top of page

Clarinet Sonata (2021) for clarinet in Bb and piano

ca. 12'30"

Clarinet Sonata is a three-movement work written for clarinet in Bb and piano. All three movements begin with very simple, and even cheesy, whimsical musical elements, but these uncomplicated elements are gradually developed into something more musically interesting and meaningful later in the movements. While this piece is not programmatic, it serves as a narrative for the composer’s reflection on life – life may not be as easy as we want it to be, but appreciating even the smallest thing allows us to enjoy every moment.

Jerry Lee, clarinet in Bb; Monica Tang, piano

6 November, 2021

Lee Hysan Concert Hall, Hong Kong

bottom of page